The Hobbit in 48 FPS

The Hobbit was even better the second time around. I wanted to see the 48 fps for myself, so we saw it in IMAX 3D. I can see now why it made some people feel sick, but for me it was mostly just dizzying. Sure, sometimes I couldn’t tell really what was going on (some bits of battle scenes), but for the most part I enjoyed it. The scene with the goblins felt like a ride at times, like I was on a simulator ride at an amusement park (actually most of the movie did), and the scene with the stone giants was pretty awesome.

And this was actually an IMAX screen, too, not one that claims to be IMAX when in reality the screen is just very slightly larger than normal. And this was real 3D, too, not like before when I’ve been to movies that were ‘3D’ and I didn’t notice much difference at all. This was really epically different. 

And I knew more about the characters this time around so it was better in that aspect also.

I saw one critic say it was “a disaster” in 48 fps, but really, I think if all 3D movies looked like that it would be awesome.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

